The Real Problem with a Camel isn’t getting up. It’s getting down…

It’s hard to sit still. I just can’t seem to quit. My head is bouncing up and down with ideas of all the things I want to do (just like a blonde girl with huge tits on a trampoline on the Man Show). I’m coming out of a funk. I sleep too much. My concentration is lacking. This can only mean one thing: it’s time to travel again. Recently, I got a message from my former landlord, Randi, an avid world traveler, in response to my plans to travel to Morocco and ride a camel in the desert. “Getting off the camel can be a challenge if you’re not prepared.” So, I’ll call “travel” the “camel” and speak from here on out in metaphors. When I started riding camels in 2006, I didn’t realize that my life and what I wanted from it would change. The real trouble with the camel isn’t getting on it, it’s getting down. You know, that part of your traveling life when you come home again? When you have to live from day to day, putting one foot in front of the other, breathing in and out. Especially in winter, when the days are gray and overwhelming. And not to mention cold. Cold is much easier to handle when you are overlooking a canyon in the Montaigne Noir of Southern France than  it is in the backwoods of Alabama. But hey, I like it here. Still, one can only take so much of mundane life, and so it’s time to get back up on that camel. Fortunately for me, Monday will begin an eleven-day excursion into Portugal, Morocco and Spain. I’m thinking though, that’s not nearly enough time. Eleven days feels like a small excursion next to the month I spent in Europe and the two and a half months I spent touring the Western states of the US. I’m not looking forward to it any less, but I’m already thinking about what happens when it’s time to get down off that camel. Getting out of the US is going to take three airline stops, which doesn’t seem to make much sense. First from the Magic City to Houston, then to Newark where I will brave the ocean with my traveling partner, Tony Drummond, who’s been many more places than I have. I’m going to catch up one of these days. He’s promised to keep me moving, because, while I am a late sleeper usually, that’s not going to be tolerated this time. And the truth is, I’m ready. I can’t keep sleeping my life away on the back of an obstinate donkey. It’s time to get up between the high humps of that camel and live each moment of the life that’s been given to me. Even though, later on, I might be afraid of falling off that dromedary and right back into the middle of Alabama. I am a little afraid of heights after all. Perhaps I should have asked Randi, “How do I prepare for the dismount?”

~ by ImaginaryCanary on January 12, 2012.

3 Responses to “The Real Problem with a Camel isn’t getting up. It’s getting down…”

  1. Getting back to “life as we used to know it” can be so hard, but that’s the thing, it is life as we KNEW it. We come back as changed people, we do not return to the same life after we travel. Yeah, we go back to work or routines, that is true. But there comes a time in every traveler’s life when they have to ask themselves what they are running from, how much is about the leaving.
    If we don’t miss our lives, our homes, our towns, our friends- we need to ask ourselves what has to change.
    I just don’t think some of us were meant to stay in one place. And maybe that is something to work out. Good luck!

  2. This is also true, Lynn. I do miss the folks and family. And yet, I find myself still wanting to move. I don’t know if I’m running away from something or toward something. Since we’re living on a sphere, it’s probably both!

  3. Be safe and post plenty of pictures. Definitely looking forward to seeing a picture of you on a camel.

Leave a Reply

 
