Interlude

Wow! I can’t believe it’s been so long since I posted anything! It’s amazing how fast time slips away! Just yesterday, it seems like I was getting back from traveling across the U.S. on my way back from a 3 1/2 year long stint in California. And now it’s been over a year since I’ve been back in Alabama, changing the course of my life yet again… This time, my adventures have taken me towards community service: finally giving back. I have become a member on the Volunteers in Public Schools board as well as the secretary and mentor administrator of VIPS’ Hanceville schools. I’ve also become an advocate for the Youth Advocate Programs, in which I work with everyone’s favorite age group: TEENAGERS. The first few weeks of working with them, I could understand why no one seems to like them. They were moody, loud, demanding, and materialistic. They needed to be entertained every second. And no one reminded me so effectively of how irrelevant these life forms consider adults to be. And yet, it has gotten much easier to deal with them since I’ve been on the job a few months. Teenagerhood is a difficult time. Seeing them every day for my job reminds me of how little I can recall from that traumatic period of my life. That’s what my brain does to trauma. It shuts down. Doesn’t remember a thing. Except for a few random images. It is interesting to watch them formulate new thoughts. To see them come around and try to get to know you as a person. It’s pretty neat to watch them grow. I like my job, even though it’s tiring sometimes. I’m quite far behind in my intellectual pursuits, such as applying for the Ph.D program, writing my book reviews, blogging and updating my website. I have writing samples to do, poems to write, pictures to take, a book to edit, and a whole slew of other intellectual pursuits just begging for my attention. And yet, sometimes, the hours are so odd or my brain is so drained I don’t feel like I have time to do anything. When I do have time, I simply don’t want to. But I have promised myself I will get back into the groove. I spend so much of my life starting over, beginning again. What’s one more time? I’m sure it won’t be the last…

~ by ImaginaryCanary on November 22, 2012.

One Response to “Interlude”

  1. Quality content and pleasure to read, but please break your bundle of text into paragraphs so it wouldn’t make us, your readers, lose sanity.

Leave a Reply

 
